Sunday, May 19, 2013

Star Trek Into Darkness was Awesome!!

I saw Star Trek Into Darkness on Saturday and it was awesome! I loved it.  I think I enjoyed it more than Iron Man 3 (but the two aren't really comparable, hahah).  I was never a Star Trek (show) fan (Trekkie, trekker, etc). It was a little too Sci-Fi for me when I was younger...but now, I love the new J.J. Abrams movies. I watched a few episodes of Next Generation with Jeff and realized it's actually really good and it's something I can appreciate now that I'm a little older.  The show is actually very technical and detailed, which I really like. 

Spoiler Alert. Don't read on if you plan to watch the movie!

Ok, so the movie was awesome. 

Pros: 
  • Great music.
  • Great visuals/ special effects.
  • Great acting, great lines...I would list them, but there are just too many.
  • It was an overall well put together movie. It definitely didn't feel like a two hour movie.
  • Spock kicked some ass. heheh.
  • I like Spock, Scotty, Kirk, Sulu...the list goes on.

Cons:
  • I like Spock a lot because he's logical and intelligent...but for some reason in this movie I would have to say he was a little "duh duh." He wasn't as sharp in this one.  He truly acted like a subordinate. But he had some funny lines.
  • Movie doesn't address the ethical/ moral issue of bringing people back to life.
  • What are they going to do with those bodies that are cyrogenically preserved? hmm..
  • An emotional roller coaster (not sure if this is a con, but it made me tear up several times).
  • Random cameo appearance of Leonard Nimoy. 
That was just to list a few pros and cons.  There are more, but I don't feel like writing more. I thought the movie was great. I want to watch it again. I highly recommend it.  I'm not an early adopter of Star Trek, so I may not be the best source as far as the story and all goes, but I was entertained.   

Thursday, May 16, 2013

Doctorate of Pharmacy (Pharm.D.)

It wasn't until a few days ago when I was picking up my graduation cap (actually called tam), gown, and hood that I realized I was truly done with pharmacy school.  I was trying on my gown (which was actually the wrong color - being reordered) that I felt overwhelmingly exited about graduating.  I'm finally done with school...for now.  I'm toying with the idea of getting a law degree (Juris Doctor), but that's for later.

It also hit me that I was getting a doctorate! hah.  It's unfortunate that the Rho Chi Honor Society changed their induction requirements from letting newly established schools being able to start a chapter to a school needing to have already graduated their first class.  So, I won't be recognized for that academic achievement until after graduating.  But that's okay. 

Next up, studying for the licensing and law exam. Oooh boy!
    


Star Trek Into Darkness

I can't wait to watch Star Trek Into Darkness. I just re-watched Star Trek for the hundredth time now. I'm ready! :D   


I have my tickets ready to go! I would watch it opening night, but I actually hate the crowds and scrambling to find a seat in the theater.  I'm okay watching it early in the day and getting there real early to get a seat.  Maybe I should wait until next week to watch it, but I don't want to WAIT! hahah. So, this weekend will do.

Iron Man 3

I recently went to watch Iron Man 3, which was very entertaining.  A little different than the first two movies.  There seems to be a discontinuity between the three movies in the form of production/ storyline.  This here is the typical, I did something wrong in the past that has come back to bite me in the butt.  Nonetheless, it was still very good and I highly recommend it. 

If I were Pepper, I would make Tony design me a cool suit!



Friday, July 10, 2009

I am trying to find an affordable apartment in baltimore. Hopefully, I can find something decent soon. hmm...





Thursday, July 9, 2009